I am ‘Hooked on Thinking’

I was very, very lucky to have the opportunity to attend a professional development day with Pam Hook and Julie Mills Hooked on Thinking  and the ‘BIG EVENT’.

Pam and Julie use Solo taxonomy (Biggs and Collis 1982) to develop students thinking about their Learning outcomes. It is a great reflective tool.

In my class this week I introduced Solo using Pam’s illustration of skateboarding (hope you don’t mind Pam). The students could really relate to the progression of knowing nothing about skateboarding to knowing a bit and then taking it beyond just knowing, to doing and then extreme skateboarding.

Two of my students knew about SOLO, they were very excited to make the connection. Their understanding was a great addition to the lesson because their peers listened to them with interest.

During a maths lesson, I had a group creating a maths video to explain the concept of multiplication to their peers. Their video was about liking multiplication with pictures of what they had been doing and how much they enjoyed it but no connection to the actual success criteria we had created for the WALT. I used SOLO to reflect on their video and to take them beyond ‘I like it’ to repeated addition, grouping and solving problems. One of the students appeared to have an ‘aha’ moment, “I get it now!” I will post their result here when they have completed it, that was a powerful moment.

Thanks Julie and Pam for helping me bring another great tool into my classroom that I can use in all areas of the curriculum. You illustrated this really well in your presentation.

I will continue adding my ponderings of my ‘Hooked on Thinking’ journey.

Leave a Reply

